Uduaghan denies naming a successor

Posted by admin | 8 years ago | 2,838 times

Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan has debunked the story making rounds that he named or sent the name of his successor to President Goodluck Jonathan through Anioma National Congress.

The Governor, through his Senior Special Assistant on research, Sunny Areh in a statement last night, said he had at no time approached the Congress or the Asagba of Asaba, Prof. Chike Edozien with any name to be presented as his successor to the President.

Uduaghan was reacting to media publications, especially the one on Vanguard newspaper of October 15, 2014, where a group petitioned the President on the said matter. The group - Ndokwa Elites Forum (NEF) lamented over the perceived exclusion of governorship aspirants of Ndokwa nation from the list which was presented at the Aso villa last week Tuesday when the Asagba led some traditional rulers from the Delta North Senatorial district to President Jonathan.

The statement read, "let it be known that the Governor did not send any name through the Anioma National Congress as Governors do not submit names to the President for the appointment of Governors". He expressed shock on why the Governor would be accused of going through the group to send such list across to the President, when he has direct access to the President.

The visit of the Asagba has been causing ripples in the state especially in Delta North since last week when the news filtered in. Condemnations have trailed the action by the royal father, who majority accused of going partisan and discriminatory.

Amongst these persons was the state Chairman of PDP who said, "the Asagba or the Anioma Congress cannot screen and shortlist candidates for us because they are not political parties. It is against the Constitution and so its null and void".

The list itself allegedly caused controversies as some candidates whose names were not there, hurried to Abuja when they got wind of it to quickly fix in their names.

The seven persons who the Asagba was reported to have presented their names to President Goodluck Jonathan are these, in the order:




1. Dr Ngozi Olejeme

2.Dr Ifeanyi Okowa

3.Chief Godwill Obielum

4. Hon. Ndudi Elumelu

5. Hon. Victor Ochei.


Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan's Nominees.


1. Mr Tony Obuh

2. Mr Charles Emetulu.


The list as presented to President Goodluck Jonathan on October 7, 2014 signed by the Asagba of Asaba - Prof. Chike Edozien, the Eze-emu of Emu - HRM Obuenwe Ekpechi Ulu and HRM Obi Solomon Chukwuka of Ute-okpu.

Readers Comments


No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...