Support Lawan, Gbajabiamila or leave APC, Tinubu tells aggrieved APC Lawmakers

By FN Editor on 30/03/2019

Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon

Views: 721

Newly elected APC lawmakers must tow the party line or be whipped out of the party, Bola Tinubu has said

Mr Tinubu, the All Progressives Congress (APC) national leader, said that party discipline would be upheld in addressing the leadership tussle of the 9th National Assembly.

Mr Tinubu said this while speaking with journalists in Lagos on Friday after a prayer programme organised by Islamic and Christian clerics to mark his 67th birthday.

“Party discipline is key, we must be discipline in the party. We were a little careless in 2015. We created the opportunity for serpent to get into our party and that did not allow Nigeria to make the desired progress.

“You have seen the result of it and we are not going to allow that to happen again. We are going to respect our party and we are going to apply the whip.

“It is either you stay with us or you follow us or you leave. You have the freedom to choose but the freedom does not give you as a minority to go and collaborate and protrude our mandate given to you to another party who was our opposition and who is still our opposition.

“We would not take that this time, no matter who you think you are. That is how it is built. Why do you want to deviate from what has been structured?

“We look at our reward system equally, zone by zone,” he said.

The APC leadership recently declared support for Yobe senator, Ahmed Lawan to become the next Senate President. Lagos lawmaker and Mr Tinubu’s protege, Femi Gbajabiamila, was also endorsed to become the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

The move was condemned by other APC lawmakers including Borno senator, Ali Ndume, who seeks to be the Senate president. Mr Ndume has vowed to continue with his ambition, saying he enjoys the support of many of the elected APC senators.

A Gombe senator, Danjuma Goje, is also in the race to be Senate President.

The APC enjoys a clear majority in the incoming Senate, winning over 60 of the 109 Senate seats.

The party is expected to produce the Senate president, but as it happened in 2015, a different candidate other than that endorsed by the party leadership may emerge the winner of the topmost legislative position.

While both Messrs Lawan and Gbajabiamila were endorsed for the positions in 2015, Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara emerged the Senate President and Speaker of the House respectively.

The two winners later defected from the APC to the PDP.




Posted on March, 30 2019

Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon

You may also like...
Bishop David Oyedepo allegedly denied US visa

4,000 Traders Lose Jobs as Obaseki Shuts down...

Boss Mustapha clarifies statement on health system in...

Minimum Wage: NLC to declare Trade dispute with...

Buhari to economic advisory council: ‘We need home-grown...

Jonathan goes into Exile in Côte d'Ivoire


OPINION: The Imo Gubernatorial Judgement - A painful...

EFCC kicks as convicted Orji Kalu begs court...

APC caused its woes in Rivers - Magnus...

Morocco Withdraws as AFCON 2015 Host

U.S. army to provide equipment, intelligence to fight...





Latest News #SouthernKaduna killings: El-Rufai advises wife Hadiza on how to deal with Twitter trolls COVID-19: Bauchi Deputy Governor Tests Positive 55 year olds and above should stay away from churches,mosques -FG Covid-19 patient escapes from Isolation center in Delta state JUST IN: Gov. Ikpeazu tests negative to covid-19 as two aides were confirmed positive I'll stand by you, President Buhari tells Akinwumi Adesina Manchester United extends Ighalo's loan deal to January 2021 Bayelsa govt seals six churches for violating covid-19 safety protocols CBN gives 2-weeks ultimatum to banks on ATM, e-banking complaints Abia Exco members to undergo Covid-19 test


Most Read Islamic agenda for Nigeria – Pastor Bosun (27,361 views) 47 YEARS AFTER, HIS EXCELLENCY, COMMODORE EBITU UKIWE (Rtd) MAKES THE “OFO NDI IGBO” RECIPIENTS LIST (24,222 views) The show of shame that sealed Justice Uzokwe’s fate (18,714 views) Breaking News : Dr Okezie Ikpeazu resigns from Abia State Environmental Sanitation Agency (ASEPA). (10,369 views) Cojoined Twins Abby And Brittany Hensel Pose in Bikini (10,230 views) Abiriba Kingdom Celebrates as Eze Kalu Kalu Ogbu (IV) marks 14th year on the throne (9,487 views) Give birth to only children you can cater for - Emir of Kano, Sanusi tells Nigerians (8,694 views) Lawyers accuse Lagos Police of working for PDP (8,671 views) Radio Biafra delivers AM Transmitter (8,587 views) Ebola virus in Syria – Infecting ISIS members (8,489 views)