Chimamanda Adichie makes history as first Nigerian to win Mary McCarthy Award

Posted by Factnews | 7 years ago | 2,191 times

Chimamanda Adichie

Author and feminist Chimamanda Adichie has yet again made history as she became the first Nigerian to receive the revered Mary McCarthy Award for her work as a writer and prominent public awareness on social issues. 

Mary Mccarty Award 

The McCarthy award which is named after famous novelist Mary McCarthy who taught at Bard College for a year, is given in acknowledgement of engagement in the public sphere by an intellectual, artist, or writer. Some other notable recipients of the award are Margaret Atwood (the author of The Handmaid’s Tale), Zadie Smith, Mona Simpson, and Susan Sontag.

The Mary McCarthy Prize in short fiction includes a $2,000 cash award, publication of a collection of short stories or novella and a standard royalty contract.


Readers Comments


No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...