INEC declares Nasarawa/Toto by-election inconclusive, orders rerun on June 1, 2016

By admin on

Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon

Views: 962

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) earlier today declared the Saturday’s Nasarawa/Toto Federal Constituency bye-election inconclusive.

This was made known by the Constituency Returning Officer of the election, Dr Wilfred Uji  while announcing the outcome of the poll in Nasarawa, Nasarawa Local Government Area of the state on Sunday
Dr. Uji cited Section 53 of the Electoral Act which gives the commission the power to cancel election in polling units where there is over voting.

“For Nasarawa/Toto federal constituency, we have a total number of 202,338 registered voters for the election out of which 76,475 were accredited and the total vote cast was 75,826 and we have 74,848 valid votes and the rejected votes stand at 978.

“The cancelled votes taken from the vote cast stand at 39,150 and the four political parties that participated at the bye-election scored the following votes, APC scored 46,559; PDP scored 17,068; APGA 11,181 and Labour party (LP) got 40 votes.

“The marginal difference between the APC and PDP is 29,491, and the cancelled votes is 39,150, so the cancelled votes exceeded the marginal difference between APC and PDP as a result of over voting in some polling units of the constituency.

“Base on the relevant laws guiding the commission, we hereby order for a rerun in the affected polling units onWednesday, June 1 in order to get a winner and such decision has been taken in the interest of peace,” he said.

The Supervising Resident Electoral Commissioner for the election, Prof. Habu Zarma, who spoke to newsmen urged the stakeholders of the political parties to cooperate with the commission in order to have a peaceful rerun. “The rerun is just serve as a second chance for the electorate to choose a leader of their choice and we hope that a winner will be declared during the rerun election,” he said.

Others who reacted to INEC's were Alhaji Mohammed Musa and Mr Ayuba Wandai, the Sole Administrators of Nasarawa and Toto local government areas of the state, respectively. Both expressed optimism that APC will come victorious during the rerun election. 


Posted on May, 29 2016

Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon

You may also like...
Breaking News! Ted Cruz drops out of GOP...

EPL results for today

I Wish I Could Use My Legs Again...

Breaking: Gambia's National Assembly extends Jammeh's tenure for...

Ex-Chief of defence staff, Alex Badeh assassinated

Motorcyclist electrocuted, roasted to death in Makurdi

NIA Directors demands removal of new DG, writes...

Bird flu Kills 2.5 Million Birds, Affects 18...

Court stops Abia Chief Judge, others from swearing-in...

Jega deploys 6 INEC Commissioners for Imo guber...

Siasia Charges Players Ahead Of Eygpt’s Game

YESSO: Abia to partner world bank on Youth...
News Abia Election Special (4) Abia Supplementary Polls Update (18) Abia Supplementary Result update (22) Appointments (9) Breaking News (201) Business (50) Campus News (5) Crime (145) Economy (123) Education (144) Entertainment (155) Fashion and Style (3) General (959) Health (117) Inside Africa (41) International News (309) Interviews (32) National (2021) Politics (1137) Press Releases (128) Religion (9) Security (138) Sports (441) Technology (27) World News (87)





Latest News Angry citizen destroys properties at Nigerian Embassy in London Mace-snatching, other 8th Senate events now history – Omo-Agege Woman goes into hiding after burning stepson’s face with hot iron Ihedioha can only be taken serious if he probes Okorocha - Ononuju Nigeria drifting into a failed state - Moghalu Nigeria fraudulently structured to fail -Okechukwu PDP commends EU report on Nigeria’s 2019 elections One in three Nigerians lack access to drinking water — UNICEF Guard your certificates well, we’ll not issue twice – WAEC Eight million out-of-school children in 10 Nigerian states and Abuja – UNICEF


Most Read Islamic agenda for Nigeria – Pastor Bosun (25,166 views) 47 YEARS AFTER, HIS EXCELLENCY, COMMODORE EBITU UKIWE (Rtd) MAKES THE “OFO NDI IGBO” RECIPIENTS LIST (20,991 views) The show of shame that sealed Justice Uzokwe’s fate (17,913 views) Breaking News : Dr Okezie Ikpeazu resigns from Abia State Environmental Sanitation Agency (ASEPA). (8,572 views) Abiriba Kingdom Celebrates as Eze Kalu Kalu Ogbu (IV) marks 14th year on the throne (7,874 views) Lawyers accuse Lagos Police of working for PDP (7,787 views) Ebola virus in Syria – Infecting ISIS members (7,686 views) Radio Biafra delivers AM Transmitter (7,504 views) Cojoined Twins Abby And Brittany Hensel Pose in Bikini (7,001 views) ‘Why fuel scarcity persists’ (6,777 views)