Enyeama makes Caf award final three

Posted by admin | 9 years ago | 2,786 times

Nigeria captain and goalkeeper, Vincent Enyeama, has been shortlisted into the final three for the 2014 African Footballer of the Year award.

Caf announced the three finalists for this year's award on their official website on Christmas Day.

Gabonese Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and the current African Footballer of the Year, Yaya Toure of the Ivory Coast are the other shortlists.

The three men were picked by "head coaches or technical director" of the various national associations, according to Caf.

"Gabonese midfielder Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama and Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure have made the final top three for the 2014 African Player of the Year.

"The trio made the cut following votes from Head Coaches or Technical Director of the National Associations," Caf announced on Christmas Day.

The pair of Ahmed Musa and Ghana captain, Asamoah Gyan, missed the final list after making the final five.

Enyeama becomes the first goalkeeper to make the final three in the African Footballer of the Year award in more than two decades.

The LOSC Lille man could also become the first goalkeeper to win the award in 28 years after legendary Moroccan goalkeeper, Badou Zaki, beat his countryman Aziz Bouderbala and Cameroon's Roger Milla to win the award in 1986 when it was still organised by France Football.

The winner will be announced at the Glo-Caf Awards night in Lagos on January 8.


African Player of the Year

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borussia Dortmund)

Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria and Lille)

Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast and Manchester City)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

Akram Djahnit (Algeria and ES Setif)

El Hedi Belamieri (Algeria and ES Setif)

Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Women’s Player of the Year

Annette Ngo Ndom (Cameroon and Amazon Grimstad)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)

Desire Oparanozie (Nigeria and Guingamp)

Women's Youth Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)

Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroon and Barcelona)

Uchechi Sunday (Nigeria and River Angels)

Most Promising Talent

Clinton N’jie (Cameroon and Olympique Lyon)

Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon and Porto)

Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)

Coach of the Year

Florent Ibenge (DR Congo)

Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif)

Vahid Halilhodžic (Former coach of Algeria)

National Team of the Year




Women’s National Team of the Year



Nigeria Under-20

Club of the Year

Al Ahly (Egypt)

AS Vita (DR Congo)

ES Setif (Algeria)

Source: Super Sports

Readers Comments


No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...