Anyim,Sylva head presidential inauguration committee

By admin on

Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon

Views: 3597

The Presidential Inauguration Planning Committee has outlined weeklong activities for the inauguration of the President-elect, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (retd.).

The committee is co-chaired by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Pius Anyim; and a former Bayelsa State Governor, Chief Timpre Sylva.

Both of them addressed State House correspondents on Thursday at the end of the second meeting of the committee held inside the old Banquet Hall of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Anyim listed the programs that have been outlined for the inauguration to include a Jumat service, an interdenominational church service, inauguration dinner, the swearing-in ceremony, a lunch and a gala night.

He however did not give the details of the dates and venues of the events.

He said, “The inauguration committee has had two meetings thus far.

“The purpose of this press briefing is to present the program to the public; seek their understanding, support and participation in the 2015 presidential inauguration.

“The committee has planned one week program of activity each of which is as important as the other.

“They include ‎press briefing, Jumat prayers, inter-denominational ‎church service, inauguration dinner, ‎swearing-in ceremony, lunch immediately after the swearing-in ceremony and a gala night‎.

“We have accordingly created sub-committees ‎to focus on each activity. The co-chairmen and members of the sub-committees may now or later take their turns in briefing the public on their activities.”

Anyim explained that there are two parallel transition committees and inauguration committee.

He said the inauguration committee was structured to be a joint committee of the present administration and incoming administration.

Members from the outgoing government include the Chief of Defence‎, Air Chief Marshal, Alex Badeh; Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed; Minister of Water Resources, Sarah Ochekpe; Minister of ‎Aviation, Osita Chidoka; Minister of Culture, Tourism and National Orientation, Edem Duke; Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Akon Ayakenyi; and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Aminu Wali; Minister of Interior, Abba Moro.

Others are the representative of the Office of the National Security Adviser, Bello Fadile; the Inspector-General of Police; Minister of State Defence, Col. Austin Akobundu (retd.); Commander Brigades of Guards, Brig. Gen. A. B. Omozoje and Mrs. Ibukun Odusote, Permanent Secretary, Presidency (Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation).

Members of incoming government are Timipre Sylva, (co-chairman), Chief Pius Akinyelure, Mrs. Abike Dabiri Erewa, Ms. Sharon Ikeazor, ‎Prof. Tony Anwuka, Alhaji Kawy Baraje, Sen John Shagaya (rtd), Hadiza Bala Usman, Babagana Kingibe, Ismaila Isa Tuntua, Senator Binta Masi Garba, Mr. Babachir Lawal and Mr. Samson Osagie.

‎The committee has the mandate to draw up programs of activities for the inauguration ceremony; arrange invitations and accommodation for foreign and local dignitaries; organize approved program of activities; draw up budget‎ for the program of activities and coopt into subcommittees persons that may be necessary to assist in the discharge of activities.


Source saharareports

Posted on April, 23 2015

Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon

You may also like...
Finally! The flying car that really could be...

Good Nigerians urged to join politics

Why we chose Ugwuanyi—Chime

Abia State House of Assembly PDP Caucus Expresses...

TERRORISM: Suspected terrorists linked to Iran to be...

Ikpeazu deserves a second term - Chinenye Nwaogu...

Anyim,Sylva head presidential inauguration committee

Uduaghan presents Okowa to Ethiope people

Ovim: the 21 days of fun

Abia4Tech TeenHack Summer Code Camp 2017

Yoruba leaders meet, urge return to regionalism, others...

Lagos to immunise 4.8 million children this weekend...
Features Automobile (2) Events (15) Jokes (0) Launching (0) Parties (0) Person of the week (2) Politics (1091)





Latest Features Ikpeazu deserves a second term - Chinenye Nwaogu Uche Ogah’s Balaam Moment Abia School Feeding Program is 2 years old and still counting Ikpeazu's Achievements: The giant steps of a revolutionary teacher Abia4Tech TeenHack Summer Code Camp 2017 Highlights from the One-day skill Acquisition Training by Abia Min. of Youth Abia State House of Assembly PDP Caucus Expresses Unalloyed Support for Ikpeazu President Muhammadu Buhari: Fight this corruption Bode Edun foundation fetes less privileged in Oshodi We Proved Doomsday Predictions Wrong –Prof. Jega


Most Read Ovim: the 21 days of fun (9,497 views) Abiriba women mark 2014 Women’s Day. (7,612 views) We Proved Doomsday Predictions Wrong –Prof. Jega (5,603 views) Buhari’s Campaign acknowledges endorsements, says no stopping the wind of change (5,598 views) President Muhammadu Buhari: Fight this corruption (5,084 views) Abia and bloggers’ visitation (4,911 views) Why we chose Ugwuanyi—Chime (4,726 views) H.E, COMDRE. EBITU UKIWE's POST OFO NDI IGBO TITLE PARTY (3,879 views) PDP House of Representatives Primary in Delta (3,834 views) Special Invitation to the official Hand-over to Abia State Judiciary and the Commissioning of the New Abiriba High Court (3,761 views)